Happy Africa Day 2011!

 

AU logo

Happy Africa Day guys. Tell the kids! Actually they probably know already. 🙂 Ok hands up who didn’t know it was Africa Day today? I’ll admit it I had no idea and I live here! Yes I know it’s my fault. I decided to some research on it. Africa Day was set up by African Union (AU) and falls on the 25th of May every year. It is the annual commemoration of the 1963 founding of the Organisation of African Unity (OAU) which is now the African Union. For those of you who don’t know, the AU has 53 member countries and was set up to address the challenges facing the continent. We all know what those challenges are.

On a funny note it’s seems that the Irish are more enthusiastic about Africa Day than we Africans. I’m serious. When I googled it they were the guys that came up. Here’s the Irish Africa day website and here’s the twitter account. Go the Irish! Before anyone says anything I did try to look for Nigeria’s Africa Day’s website and I didn’t find one. I also couldn’t find one on the AU site. If anyone knows where they are, drop the link here.

So happy Africa Day everyone. We know what we need to do to get this continent to where it’s supposed to be. Let’s get on with it.

About BinoandFino

A new black cartoon made in Africa for kids all over the world.
This entry was posted in News, Thoughts and Views and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Africa Day 2011!

  1. Happy Africa Day! Hadn’t heard of it either…just as well the Irish have it under control. 🙂

Leave a Reply

