Coconut Island

This is a trailer for a quirky Nigerian children’s cartoon called Coconut Island. I’m not too sure how far they are in production. It was supposed to be released in 2009 but I haven’t heard much about it. I can see the creators have a sense of humour and fun. I really hope the project is still alive and kicking as I know the challenges they must have faced.

About BinoandFino

A new black cartoon made in Africa for kids all over the world.
This entry was posted in News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Coconut Island

  1. Nope don’t agree, don’t like the look of that face. Kids read faces automatically and internalise what they see – and that one reads anger – the sloped eyebrows and angular face…ughh. Just by looking at that one pic I wouldn’t be letting our boys watch it.

    • BinoandFino says:

      Hi Karyn,
      I took a look at the video again with what you said in mind because I had never seen it that way and other‘s hadn‘t flagged it up. I can see now how the still picture of the masked character could be frightening. However, the angry expression on that character isn’t on constantly throughout. Also his voice and his movement especially at the end when he’s comically dancing almost negates his mask’s angry features. But that’s my opinion and these kinds of things can get quite subjective.

  2. We might have to agree to disagree on this one, Adamu. The brains of kids are highly reactive to learning ferocious stuff and I just wouldn’t want our boys imprinting that picture in their memories.

    • BinoandFino says:

      I agree. No problem on that front. I know we can’t agree all the time 🙂 . It’d be boring otherwise. And when it comes to your kids you are the authority. One interesting thing though. Your comment made me think. When I grew up, in my mum’s village especially we were exposed to things called ‘masquerades’ from a very young age. Actually it’s not really a village anymore but a town. Masquerades can represent many things. Visually they are very elaborate costumes. Some are scary, some are beautiful. They would come with dance groups and go through the town or village during festivities. I suppose that’s partly why I and some friends of mine who are parents didn‘t view the cartoon in the same way.

Leave a Reply

