Children’s Cartoons Adults Can Enjoy Pt1

 Have you ever wanted to watch cartoons both you and your kids enjoy? A cartoon that didn’t make you want to put your head in a microwave whilst pretending to your child that you liked it?

I’ve always loved cartoons. Both those for kids and adults. I still watch many children’s cartoons to this day. I watch them just to relax and escape for a bit. Sometimes I even learn something! Of course I’ve grown out of most of the ones I used to watch as a kid. And there are some of the current crop that I just can’t stand. But that’s OK because, hey, I’m not their target market. But for me there are some cartoons that hit that wonderful balance of appealing both to adults and children.

Hey Arnold Cartoon

The first is called ‘Hey Arnold’. I fell in love with this cartoon the first time I saw it. It was created by Craig Bartlett and was based on his comic strip Arnold. It’s a U.S. based cartoon. Craig Bartlett is actually the brother-in-law of a certain Matt Groening, the creator of the Simpsons. I’ve always loved the mood and pace of this cartoon. The show stars fourth grader Arnold and his school friends. He lives with is grandparents in a boarding house that has some very funny crazy tenants. Arnold has a very mature laid back head on his shoulders and is always trying to help one of his friends solve one problem or the other. The voice actors and script are great. On top of that I can’t get enough of the jazz soundtrack. One of my favourite characters is Dino Spumoni who’s a cross between Dean Martin and Frank Sinatra.

Charlie and Lola Cartoon

 

Then there’s Charlie and Lola. This is a wonderful British cartoon based on illustrated books by Lauren Child. Charlie and Lola are brother and sister. Charlie is probably around 7 and Lola 4 years old. For me the star of the show is Lola and her crazy imagination. This cartoon is a bit like the Snoopy or Peanuts cartoons because you never actually see an adult in the cartoon. Again the voice acting, this time by the child actors is superb! Well the English version anyway. I haven’t seen it in other languages. The visual hand drawn over collage style is beautiful. These combined help the cartoon to capture that period of childhood innocence. It’s another cartoon I feel parents can watch with their children without feeling the need to smash their head against the wall! Like that crazy Pokemon! Don’t get me started on Pokemon!

When I think of more kids cartoons adults can also enjoy I’ll post them up. If you know of any please let me know.

About BinoandFino

A new black cartoon made in Africa for kids all over the world.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and Views and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Children’s Cartoons Adults Can Enjoy Pt1

  1. adaora says:

    I’m 43 and I love cartoons – at least the ones which don’t make me want to microwave my head 🙂
    Lil Bill (not many cartoons with black kids around and this one is sweet without being patronising), Clifford the Big Red Dog (nice mix of genuine childrens characters – shy, kind, musical, snobbish etc.), Dexter (I love his love/hate relationship with his sister DeeDee and the fact that he is a fearless inventor!
    There are lots more I love including any episode of Sesame Street before the year 2000 (I know, I know it is not a cartoon but… 🙂 Enough, back to work and being an adult! 🙂

    • BinoandFino says:

      Hi Adaora.
      I love Dexter and Little Bill. But I haven’t had a chance to watch Little Bill much because it was broadcast mainly in the US. But I love Mr.Cosby for that series. I’ve heard of clifford the Big Red Dog but I’ve never watched an episode. I’ll have to hunt it down! I’ll let you pass with Sesame Street. Though it’s not a cartoon it had some cartoony bits in it and hey …it’s Sesame Street! 🙂 Ok go back to work now.

  2. Omotola says:

    I love Hey Arnold. I always felt like I related to him pretty well because I spent most of my early life living with my grandparents.

    However, I never liked Charlie and Lola. I’ve always really hated the slow plot progressions in toddler toons. Maybe if I was a in their target demographic when the show was released I’d like it.

    -Tola

    • BinoandFino says:

      Hey Tola,
      Hey Arnold a classic as far as I’m concerned. I just love that show. I’ve watched many episodes many times over. I prefer watching it than many adult TV series. So Charlie and Lola aren’t doing it for you huh? 🙂

      • Maybe it’s because I don’t have kids and I don’t to anytime soon. Like most shows designed for that particular demographic they move unnecessarily slow. Because of demographics and the overall structure of the show, I just couldn’t get into CnL or any of the other shows in that genre.

      • BinoandFino says:

        I understand what you mean. Funny coming from a creator of children’s cartoons right? But sometimes the shows just get the balance right and if you go with it, they’re actually a lot of fun. But yes having children helps especially when you watch with them and see they fun they have.

  3. toyin says:

    I love Charlie & Lola….the way Lola’s imagination runs and is shown…reminds me a lot about my childhood and my thoughts. My daughter loves it too!

    • BinoandFino says:

      🙂 Hi Toyin. Lola’s left field logic gets me everytime. I keep thinking how did you think that up. Sometimes I think if you asked her what 2+2 was she’d probably say ‘pineapple’ .:-)

  4. storm says:

    Here’s some we love to watch with the children (3, 5 and 7):
    – Gummi Bears (still brilliant after all these years)
    – Ben 10
    – Avatar, the last Airbender (the best cartoon series ever).
    – Stormhawks

    • BinoandFino says:

      Ah the Gummi Bears! I haven’t seen those guys in ages. I bought the Avatar series but I haven’t gotten around to watching it yet! The Stormhawks are new to me so I’ll check them out. 🙂

  5. Pat says:

    Guuuuyyyysss!!! Phineas and Ferb – best cartoon on TV.

Leave a Reply

