Bleaching Your Kids Skin?!-Pure Madness

I don’t watch Tyra Banks much. Not because I don’t like her. I just don’t have the time. I missed a show she did about skin bleaching. For those of you who are wondering what skin bleaching is, it’s something done a lot in the Black and also Asian community where both men and women use chemicals on their skin to make them look lighter or ‘whiter‘. I saw clips of the episode at a Black History Walks Event in London. Some of you might have seen it already. I was speechless when I first saw it. Then I got angry really quickly. I didn’t know whether I was angry at the mothers or at the fact that they felt they had to bleach their children’s skin to better their lives.

However, I always try to go beyond my initial reactions to certain things and to try and see the other side. Now I just believe that these women need help in seeing the real danger in what they’re doing.  But how do you help and stop this madness?  To be able to combat a logic where a mother feels that she has to put harmful chemicals on her children’s skin to better their lives, a lot of work needs to be put in on many levels. I really feel for the kids because what physical and psychological damage are they going to incur as a result of all this. How self confident about their true selves will they be? I wish I could speak to the mothers one on one to really hear their point of view no matter what it is so one can come up with more solutions because it’s obvious to me that things just aren’t working at the moment.

About BinoandFino

A new black cartoon made in Africa for kids all over the world.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and Views and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bleaching Your Kids Skin?!-Pure Madness

  1. Words fail me. I thought this kind of thing was in the realm of the Michael Jacksons of the world (lovely but possibly a little mad).
    What kind of world are we in where mothers would do this to ‘help’ their children. Heartbreaking.

    • BinoandFino says:

      Hi Karyn,
      We’ve been having a serious debate about this on our Facebook page as well. It’s such a complex issue. I feel it boils down to insecurity issues, self hatred of oneself and culture. Of course this has a historical context. The thing is that I could have understood this kind of thing happening 40 to over a 100 years ago where in some parts of the world where being black and dark bore dire consequences. But so many strides have been made. There’s even a black ( or mixed race) president of the US. I’m not saying racism and inequalities don’t exist in the US, UK, Europe, Australia etc and that African countries have a lot of work to do but I thought that we had gone beyond the point of these drastic levels of self hatred and fear. Don’t we have enough black role models, power and social economic clout nowadays? I guess the answer is no if this is still happening. I mean I knew people bleached their skin but their kids?!? Or am I missing something entirely? Whatever the case, as you said, it’s heartbreaking.

      • What ever it is you’re missing in this equation, I think I’m missing it too. It is really hard to break patterns between generations – I understand that – I just don’t get why you would do something so hurtful and harmful to yourself or your kids. Yes racism and inequalities exist – but is this the best way to battle them? I don’t think so.

      • BinoandFino says:

        I agree with you Karyn. I know sometimes people on the receiving end of racism and inequalities just get sick and tired of fighting it on a daily basis and want to live a life where it’s not a factor. I can understand that. The sad thing is that the mothers seem to think this is the best way to achieve that.

  2. Pingback: Queens of Africa | Bino and Fino

Leave a Reply

